The Day We Saw Nanta

Stage before the Show (Image: J.Hulin)

What was not to like? Seeing Nanta in Myeongdong, Seoul was excellent. If you told me that I would be over the moon to see corny, participation theatre when I lived in the UK, I would not have believed you. If you invited me to a corny, participation theatre show I may well have made a terrible excuse to avoid attending. Corny, participation theatre is not my usual domain but this kind of performance is what Korea does best. You cannot help but love every  single  second. Slapstick comedy reigns in every part of the country, it is dominant on television, the radio and in live shows. The stuff that would normally make you cringe if you are over the age of five in your home country, is outstanding in Korea. I have been fully converted.

I was among the first to clap and cheer when the chefs in Nanta threw cabbage into the audience or got themselves stuck in a plastic bin. I was the one who laughed the loudest when the boss caught the chefs fooling around instead of working hard. Comedy aside, the actors and actress were very talented, the drumming and dancing was impeccable. The finale was a refreshing, modern take on routine upon routine of traditional, Korean dances. They used pots and pans in place of typical instruments. We were both transfixed.

There is something special about a show that can genuinely entertain everyone, from young children all the way up to grandparents and the twenty somethings in between. I will never knock slapstick comedy again. It has its place right here in Nanta.

Cookin' at Nanta Performance

Posing at Nanta Theatre in Myeongdong

Tickets and information can be found here.

http://nanta.i-pmc.co.kr/en/sub1.asp

About Happily Lost

A travel junkie working as an English teacher in South Korea.
This entry was posted in 365 Days in Korea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Day We Saw Nanta

  1. Steve says:

    Love slapstick comedy! This would be right up my alley!

  2. Jackie says:

    Me too. Does the show travel as in to London?

  3. Happily Lost says:

    I think it has been to London at one point. It definitely went to New York. If I hear about a show in london I’ll let you know.

Share your thoughts

