The Day Iced Coffee Took Over.

It changed overnight. I am not talking about the weather which has been doing the opposite, I am, in fact referring to coffee. Cold became the new hot. Perhaps there was an iced coffee revolution in the UK and I was totally oblivious to it, but as far as I am aware it is not nearly as popular as the old fashioned, hot stuff.

In Korea, the very day the weather  began to warm up, iced coffee immediately became cooler than the latest 2PM pop song, spreading radiation fears and having the highest, hot pepper paste consumption. This was not normal. It is no longer surprising to see groups out for dinner at upmarket, Italian restaurants, dressed to the nines grasping plastic cups of the stuff. The office coffee break turned cold before the central heating went off.

I will admit I have become partial to a cream topped, iced mocha or a refreshing, iced caramel macchiato and given the choice of hot or iced, I am starting to lean in a colder direction when it comes to my coffee. We are often found slurping on an iced coffee in our favourite haunts across town.

Boyfriend Iced Coffee Conversion

Yet there is a time and a place for an iced coffee fix. A coffee shop is of course acceptable, as are convenience stores, cinemas and street stalls. While ordering an iced hazelnut latte in a busy bar at 1am in my tainted, pub loving, British eyes is simply criminal. Bear in mind that at this point everyone around is doing their best imitation of Beyonce. Even more so when it comes covered in whipped cream in a plastic, take away cup. It’s availability boggles my mind, I feel uncomfortable just thinking about the look you would get in England at the same request.

Iced coffee has a time and a place. Except in Korea.

About Happily Lost

A travel junkie working as an English teacher in South Korea.
This entry was posted in 365 Days in Korea and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Day Iced Coffee Took Over.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Coffee, hot or cold at 1am would be awful for me. I would be wide awake all night! Whatever works I guess, and it’s better than people drinking alcohol for the sake of it.

  2. Happily Lost says:

    I agree on the non alcoholic drinks front, it is 100% acceptable to order a soft drink, just not fancy coffees!

    • Anonymous says:

      I can’t imagine it going down too well in the States either. It’s that time of night when bartenders wanna go home, not make elaborate drinks. Oh, how I love Asia!

  3. Steve says:

    I love iced coffee! It gets me through every summer!

  4. ficklefolly says:

    It was really overnight. Even the baristas Korea-wide began asking if you wanted your coffee iced on the same day. You would think it was on a calendar! I like the iced coffee bit here when I’m in a hurry, but then I drink it too fast and on those days when you want to just chill in Hollie’s or Tom-n-Toms for a bit, it gets real boring after your coffee is already gone.

Share your thoughts

