The Day Chopstick Training Began

I will openly admit that before living in Korea I had very limited chopstick abilities. While loving travel, I had also managed to avoid chopstick action by eating with my hands in India or using various levels of cutlery across Europe and the US. A short fling in Hong Kong and the odd Chinese or Thai take away encompasses the entire history of chopsticks and myself. That was all about the change.

In Korea chopsticks rule the restaurants and rightly so. Eating with chopsticks can be elegant, skillful and downright impressive. Eating everything with one hand? That is certainly a selling point for chopstick use everywhere. Imagine all the things you could do with the other hand.

I decided to tackle my problem head on and invested in a set for our apartment where I proceeded to eat all my meals with them. That’s right, pasta, mashed potato and chicken salads were all now eaten with my trusty chopsticks. That was four months ago. Today my chopstick skills are far from flawless but, I can get most of the meat off a chicken wing and handle slippery noodles with a touch of grace. At home the chopsticks have been banished to the back of the utensil drawer and knives and forks are once again the weapon of choice. School lunches and restaurants however are the domain of the chopsticks and long may their reign continue.

About Happily Lost

A travel junkie working as an English teacher in South Korea.
This entry was posted in 365 Days in Korea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Day Chopstick Training Began

  1. Steve says:

    You both must be really good with them by now. You’d put all of us to shame.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Pasta with chopsticks? That is pure dedication!

  3. Jen Pace says:

    i couldn’t use chopsticks until i had lived here for 10 months. i still suck at using metal ones!

  4. Great review! You actually covered some nice things in this post. I came across it by using Yahoo and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the RSS feed, it’s very great 🙂

Share your thoughts

